It rises to the top of the homonymous hill (m. 473) that stands at the center of the Valleys of Clitunno, Topino and Tiber. This charming and privileged position of dominance over the valley, Montefalco has been called the “Balcony of Umbria `”: stand out clearly from up there Spoleto, Bevagna, Trevi, Foligno, the peaks of the Apennines and Martani. Among the 1320 and 1355 Montefalco was the seat of the Papal Curia Spoleto and became, under the leadership of Chancellor of the Duchy of Spoleto, Jean d'Amiel, an important political and artistic. In this context of wealth, even religious, came the Umbrian school of painting. Dal XIV sec. until the first half of the fifteenth century., the city became part of the estates of the family Trinci of Foligno. In 1848 happened to continue expanding the municipality with the `of the castles of Fabbri, Fratta and St. Luke. As the village situated on a hill, the mileage of its streets in a wheelchair can be quite tiring; we recommend that you drive right up to the main square of the city as a starting point for short trips.
Town of Montefalco P.zza del Comune Tel 0742070127 – Fax 0742379852
Tourist Information Office of the district Foligno-Nocera Umbra
Corso Cavour, 126 – 06034 Foligno
Such. 0742354459 / 0742354165 – Fax 0742340545
[mappress mapid =”20″]